MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Albany State (37-10 overall) downed Bluefield State (25-24-1) 12-2 in Game 7 to advance into Friday’s round undefeated in the Black College Baseball World Series presented by Tyson Foods at Riverwalk Park – home of the Class AA Montgomery Biscuits – Thursday 

Albany State was two wins from securing a NCAA Division II postseason berth before falling to fellow Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference rival Savannah State and brought the most team victories (35) of any squad into the BCBWSPBTF. The Thursday triumph over Bluefield State ended after seven innings due to the 10-run mercy rule. 

A seven-run second inning did the trick for ASU as the Golden Rams had at least one hit from eight of the nine offensive players in the lineup. Nathan Lloyd provided four runs in his slot with a single two RBI and two runs scored in an official 1-for-1 afternoon. Lefty pitcher Brady Davis notched his eighth pitching victory in nine decisions. 

Bluefield State, now 1-1 in the meet, got a two-run homer (his team-high 12th of the season) from Jordan Varela-Payne in the bottom of the first for all its scoring production before the literal bottom fell out of BSU pitcher. Starter Zach Powell (7-6 and the team’s ace) went 1 2/3 innings and suffered the loss. 

The four-day tournament consists of double-elimination competition among NCAA Division II and NAIA teams in separate brackets for three days and a championship contest between bracket winners Saturday at 5 p.m. (CDT). The title game will be preceded by a special Black College Baseball World Series Presented by Tyson Foods Home Run Derby at 2 p.m. (CDT).  

Thursday games (all times CDT) – Game 5 – Edward Waters 9, Savannah State 5; Game 6 – Rust 9, Wiley 2; Game 7 – Albany State 12, Bluefield State 2 (7 innings); Game 8 – 7:30 p.m. – Florida Memorial vs Paine.  

Friday’s Schedule – Game 9 – 9 a.m.: Edward Waters vs. Bluefield State; Game 10 – 12:30 p.m. – Rust 6 vs. Loser of Game 8; Game 11 – 4 p.m. – Albany State vs. Winner of Game 9; Game 12 – 7:30 p.m. – Winner of Game 8 vs Winner of Game 10.  

Saturday Championship: 5 p.m. – bracket winners. Home Run Derby at 2 p.m.