Pompano Beach, FL – Bluefield State University baseball became the 2024 Black College World Series Champions after their 5-1 victory over Talladega College. Bluefield State is the first team to claim two Black College World Series titles (2021, 2024).

After falling to Talladega College on Friday, the Big Blue faced off with Edward Waters that night to determine who would be going to the championship to compete against Talladega College. The Big Blue used two five-run innings to push past the Tigers 12-7. Braeden Major collected the win on the mound, throwing 5.1 innings, giving up five hits, three runs, one walk, and struck out 12.

The Big Blue loaded the bases in the first, but both sides went scoreless through the first three innings. Talladega got on the board first in the bottom of the fourth, but the Big Blue tied it up in the fifth inning. Back-to-back singles from Noah Moritz and Tahraun Hammond, followed by a double from Peyton Lewis, brought the first run home for the Big Blue.

The Big Blue offense erupted for four runs on five hits to take the 5-1 lead in the top of the ninth. Hammond was hit by the pitch, and a double from Lewis put runners in scoring position with one out. Talladega intentionally walked Tahir Meulens  to load the bases. A single to left field from Chris Larkin brought in two runs to take the 3-1 lead. Jean Carlos Diaz singled to left field, but the Talladega left fielder threw out Meulens at home. Garett Hladilek would send one back up the middle to extend the Big Blue lead to five.

Zach Powell left the mound for the final time in his collegiate career in the bottom of the ninth after getting one out and a runner on first and second. Hammond moved to the mound, giving up one hit, one strikeout, and a fly out to right field to secure the 5-1 Championship victory over Talladega.

Powell earned his 10th win of the season, pitching 8.1 innings, giving up nine hits, one run, three walks, and striking out seven.

Zach Powell was presented with the Best Pitcher Award. Powell appeared in two games at the tournament (15 IP), earning the win in both and striking out 10.

Peyton Lewis earned the MVP award. Lewis scored five runs, six RBIs, and nine hits, three of those in the championship game.